Attractions in Berwick-Upon-Tweed
Berwick-upon-Tweed Barracks - Northumberland - 0.22 miles
The Berwick Barracks, among the first to be purpose-built, were begun in 1717 based on a sketch by the distinguished court architect Nicolas Hawksmoor. Today, the Barracks hosts a number of attractions, including By Beat of Drum an exhibition on the life of the British infantryman. While there, make sure you visit the Regimental Museum of the Kings Own Scottish Borderers, Contemporary Art Gallery (Apr-Aug) and Clock Block exhibition.
Northumberland College - Berwick-upon-Tweed - 4.02 miles
Environmental Conservation, Construction, Engineering, Travel & Tourism, Hair & Beauty, Early Year, Essential skill, Health and Social care, Access & Education, Preparation for life and work, IT, and Animal care. The College offers HNCs and HNDs in Computing, Hospitality and Engineering.
Paxton House - 4.07 miles
Built for a dashing young Scottish laird, Patrick Home of Billie, in 1758 on a ridge overlooking the majestic River Tweed, Paxton House is one of the finest 18th century Palladian country houses in Britain. On view are 12 period rooms, many boasting interiors by Robert Adam and the finest collections of furniture by Thomas Chippendale including the unique star-backed chairs in the lady's bedroom. There are also exquisite Regency period Scottish furniture, designed by William Trotter of Edinburgh. The House was extended in 1811 by George Home, 16th Laird of Wedderburn, to include the largest purpose built picture gallery in a Scottish Country House, in which are now housed over 70 paintings from the National Galleries of Scotland.
Goswick Links Golf Club - Berwick-upon-Tweed - 5.15 miles
For over a hundred years golf has been played on the Goswick Links, which lie some 7 miles south of the old garrison town of Berwick-upon-Tweed, on the east coast of north Northumberland.To the West the Cheviot Mountain Range overlooks the coastal strip with Goswick Links lying between the railway line and sands. The Holy Island and Bamburgh Castle lie to the South and looking North the low Lammermuir Hills lie just beyond the River Tweed and The Scottish Borders. The original nine holes were laid out in 1890 by James Braid and extended in 1894 to 18 holes. In 1964 the original nine holes were modified by Frank Pennick. Recently four new greens and four new tees have been added. The course now measures over 6600 yards and can be stretched to 6800 yards from back tees.
Elizabethan Walls - 0.1 miles
Berwick's town walls are its most famous piece of architecture and still stand strong today, hundreds of years after they were built. Berwick actually has two sets of walls, the first set (of which only fragments now remain), commenced by Edward I, was two miles long. The later Elizabethan Walls (which are still complete) are a mile and a-quarter in length. The ramparts completely surround the town, with four gates through which entry to the town is enabled.
Berwick's Elizabethan Walls are the only example of bastioned town walls in Britain and one of the best preserved examples in Europe. When built in 1558 - designed to keep out the marauding Scots who regularly laid claim to the town - it was the most expensive undertaking of England's Golden Age.
The walls were built to an Italian design and contained bastions which were designed to allow gunfire covering every part of the wall. Outside the curtain wall and bastions, there were wide water-filled ditches to deter potential invaders.Walking around the town walls takes about 45 minutes and is a great way to discover Berwick's turbulent history You can also take in stunning views over the town and look out towards the wide sandy beaches of the North Sea and the Tweed estuary with its colony of mute swans.
The ramparts are open all year round - entry is free.