Reviews

4.1
Based on 1654 reviews
5 Star
46%
4 Star
31%
3 Star
14%
2 Star
6%
1 Star
4%
A – 14 hours ago

Great stopover
A great one night stopover to visit Berwick, nice hotel with comfortable bed and bathroom. Breakfast was very nice, friendly staff

Margaret Milligan– {$human_timing}

Awful
Booked a 4night bed@ breakfast stay . My husband has parkinson's so very careful when iBook any hotel that it is suitable for his needs. Confirmed no stairs and a walk in shower as he can not climb into a bath. Paid for a superior room as they said it would be perfect. Lift to ist floor and room across from lift. Lovely room large bathroom with a bath with a shower in bath. Also separate shower in cubicle. The following morning tried to use walk in shower. Would not work could not even turn it on. Husband had to wash at a washand badon.very difficult standing. Reported problem before 9am Friday. Told they would get a plumber. Checked in the afternoon .said the manager had been contacted ana plumber would come might be 7 or 8 at night. Spoke to the might receptionist and she came to our room to apologize as plumber not coming. She also tried the shower and agreed there was a problem. I told her I had to see the manager the next morning. Another day for my husband without a shower.Saw the manager on the Saturday still no plumber said we could change rooms later on. I declined all I wanted was the shower fixed. I phoned my brother in-law and asked him to come and take us home a day early. As the holiday was ruined. I told the manager I wanted a refund for the Sunday night and breakfast as it was 16 pounds each for breakfast. Eventually agreed to this but was not at all helpful. Gillian the receptionist was lovely and so apologetic.alsothe lady in the snack room was so nice. Also our room door was left opened by the cleaners on the Friday. On the Saturday they did not change the towels. Skeleton staff the receptionist does everything. Breakfast and everything. Would not recommend this do called hotel to anyone. When you are elderly and disabled a holiday is important.

Response

Dear Margaret,We Offered a room change on the day of arrival. we also offered a room change on Friday and Saturday. This was declined.There are 2 showers in room 7. when we have checked the booking information we can see that you were offered initially a executive room however you chose to go with the superior.We do not have any accessible rooms in the hotel at present but we are working hard to rectify this issue.RegardsAlyson

Joanne Hepworth – {$human_timing}

Grand Building in need of TLC
This hotel needs a complete renovation, the outside is tatty with peeling paint. Inside is a little better but only a little. The bar area had a broken table &tacky decor.My room was clean but there was dust on the lamp which had a stained & broken shade.On the plus side the staff were lovely & friendly. But I would not stay here again.

m – 2 days ago

Amazing hotel with friendly staff
The receptionist and night porter on the 7th June and the receptionists on the 8th June were all so friendly, kind and helpful. Thank you so much!

Lucy Davis – {$human_timing}

Tired but comfortable
We were met my friendly cheerful staff on reception. Our room was large and spacious with equally large bathroom but the decor was old and tired and in need of updating. The curtains were not attached well, ceiling stained, grouting in bathroom discoloured.

Sean Hayes– 4 days ago

Absolutely brilliant
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Romm cleaned every day and overall absolutely happy about my and my wife's honeymoon here.

Rebecca Fitch – {$human_timing}

Not quite as expected
The positives about this place were the lovely warm greeting we received on arrival. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.The room was clean and welcoming.We did feel however the hotel was trying to offer too much. A bar, coffee shop, breakfast room, beer garden and a restaurant with minimal staffing.The breakfast we had was definitely not worth the money and the room lacked any atmosphere. It would have worked better to serve breakfast in the coffee bar. There was also lack of attention to detail. We had no soap in our room for the first 2 days and some provision of water for the rooms either with bottled water or proper glasses and a water filling station would have improved the experience.

Michelle L – 1 week ago

We had 2 double rooms for my wife and me and a double room for my daughter
My daughters room was fine appart from being a bit noisy from the street my room was a bit tired looking and the shower didn't work and the curtains wouldn't close for much of the night the water in the toilet cistern was running. However the receptionist couldn't have been better she was polite helpful and kind and helped me with her knowledge of the area a treasure to have in the hotel

Yvonne B – 1 week ago

It was lovely
Absolutely brilliant. Friendly staff that couldn't do enough for you. Room perfect, food amazing. I took 3 children & they even said staff were nice. Def come again .

Morag G – 2 weeks ago

Great hotel
Only stayed 1 night but accommodation was good. We had a meal in the restaurant, food was great and plentiful.Above all the staff were helpful and so friendly.Will not hesitate to stay again ,hopefully for longer.